W.G.A. ecoregions

The W.G.A. is categorizing regions for wilderness guide specializations based on the Walter Biome classification system.

While more defined classifications are available, we feel that the following is sufficient for our purposes.

Boreal / Nemoral

Walter VIII: Boreal

  • Cold temperate with cool summers and long winters
  • Evergreen, frost-hardy, needle-leaved forest (taiga)

Walter VI: Nemoral

  • Moderate climate with winter freezing
  • Frost-resistant, deciduous, temperate forest


Walter IX: Polar

  • Very short, cool summers and long, very cold winters
  • Low, evergreen vegetation, without trees, growing over permanently frozen soils

Tropical / Jungle

Walter I: Equatorial

  • Always moist and lacking temperature seasonality
  • Evergreen tropical rain forest

Walter II: Tropical

  • Summer rainy season and cooler “winter” dry season
  • Seasonal forest, scrub, or savanna


Walter VII: Continental

  • Arid, with warm or hot summers and cold winters
  • Grasslands and temperate deserts

Walter III: Subtropical

  • Highly seasonal, arid climate
  • Desert vegetation with considerable exposed surface